Natural landscapes: Spring tulip

SPRING TULIP, WHITBY, ONTARIO

Every morning I walked past this beautiful flower on my way to the garage to get into my car and drive to work. I knew it would make a good photograph, but I had a limited time because I knew the best composition would be *before* the blossom unfurled.
One morning, I came outside after an overnight rain, saw the tulip covered in drops and knew the moment arrived. Went back inside, hauled out my old Nikon D50 (since replaced by a D90) & tripod and used an 80-200 mm. zoom lens (also retired) at the most wide-open F-stop in order to keep the background thoroughly out of focus.

Click on the picture for a larger view.

Want to buy this picture? Email me and I’ll make it happen! (fdking@hotmail.com).

Check out my coffeetable book THE ALBERTA BADLANDS: A Landscape Portrait”: http://bit.ly/HtBAW6

Leave a Reply

