Natural landscapes: the photographer’s footprints

WINTER IN THE BADLANDS, DINOSAUR PROVINCIAL PARK, ALBERTA

Badlands are a great photo subject, but how many folks have ever seen them thoroughly covered with snow? During this December, 2009 hike, I didn’t see a single soul during my entire time in this incredible park, about 2.5 hours’ drive southeast of my home in Calgary.
Wikipedia notes 40 dinosaur species have been discovered at the park and more than 500 specimens have been removed and exhibited in museums around the globe. So it’s no surprise to find out the United Nations declared Dinosaur Provincial Park a World Heritage site in 1979.
All that said (written!), I still wish I’d included all the footprint that’s cut off at the bottom border. Do you think that matters?

Click on the picture for a larger view.

Want to buy this picture? Email me and I’ll make it happen! (fdking@hotmail.com).

Check out my coffeetable book THE ALBERTA BADLANDS: A Landscape Portrait”: http://bit.ly/HtBAW6

dinosaurweb1

7 thoughts on “Natural landscapes: the photographer’s footprints

Leave a Reply

