Natural landscapes: the glory(?) of spring snow

SPRING SUNRISE, KANANASKIS COUNTRY, ALBERTA

Yes, this photograph was made in April. In the Canadian Rocky Mountains, snow is a possibility any month of the year, though it’s not likely during July and August. You’re looking at Hwy. 40 in Kananaskis, a region that’s little known to tourists (they go for the world-renowned Banff National Park), but a favourite destination for Albertans. The peak is The Wedge. Nikon D90, tripod, polarizing filter.

Click on the picture for a larger view.

Want to buy this picture? Email me and I’ll make it happen! (fdking@hotmail.com).

Check out my coffeetable book “BLUE SYMPHONY: Winter in the Canadian Rockies”: http://bit.ly/kFb3Xw

KananaskisWeb1

4 thoughts on “Natural landscapes: the glory(?) of spring snow

  1. April or December, the snow is always gorgeous atop those mountains. Having not seen the Canadian Rockies firsthand, I appreciate images like this to remind me why I want to visit them! Love the light here, Frank. Truly a wonderful photo.

  2. Nice shot Frank. I really like how the road leads your eye through the image. Like the other comment above I hope to one day get out to see the Rockies too. Until then, I’m just a lil jealous… 🙂

    • Thanks, pal. That was a stunning morning where almost everything I aimed the camera at turned into a good photograph. Those days are rare, but when they come along, it’s a deep God experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

