Rural landscapes: Butchart beauty

TULIPS AND ROSS FOUNTAIN, BUTCHART GARDENS, VICTORIA, BRITISH COLUMBIA

This 55-acre National Historic Site is a stunning tourist attraction on Vancouver Island on Canada’s west coast. My wife and I toured it recently and came away pretty stunned at the display of flowers and shrubs (and the roses weren’t even out yet).
I took the Nikon D90 with me, but left the tripod behind and still came up with compositions like this. I used a flash here to fill in the shadows and make the foreground flowers more prominent.

Click on the picture for a larger view.

Want to buy this picture? Email me and I’ll make it happen! (fdking@hotmail.com).

Check out my coffeetable book, “MOMENTS OF LIGHT: Thirty Years of Photography”: http://bit.ly/JTNnMX

butchartweb1

3 thoughts on “Rural landscapes: Butchart beauty

  1. Terrific positioning here. That center fountain that goes straight up is positioned perfectly in the middle and works so well in the photograph. The focus is on the tulips but the fountain leads your eye through the whole image. Great shot Frank!

Leave a Reply

