Natural landscapes: amidst the falling snow

AUTUMN AT CAVELL LAKE, JASPER NATIONAL PARK, ALBERTA

I’ve photographed this lake before (http://wp.me/p2ccTX-rV), but not in such gloomy, introspective conditions. With so much fog, I opted to concentrate on the edge of a forest and the snowy rock wall. I tried darkening the background during processing, but found I liked keeping it lighter so it doesn’t compete with the trees for your attention.
Look carefully and you’ll see some streaks of falling snow. And yes, I converted this scene to black and white. There was snow little colour in the scene that going all the way to monotone seemed wise.
Nikon D7100, tripod, 70-300 mm. zoom lens.

Click on the picture for a larger view.

Want to buy this picture? Email me and I’ll make it happen! (fdking@hotmail.com).

Check out my coffeetable book “BLUE SYMPHONY: Winter in the Canadian Rockies”: http://bit.ly/kFb3Xw

Lake snow Canada Rockies

3 thoughts on “Natural landscapes: amidst the falling snow

  1. The softness and lightness of the background is perfect, Frank. It allows those trees to dominate and it just simply creates the feeling of height of the unseen mountains behind. Definitely a B&W image.

Leave a Reply

